Victoria Lindsay, Country Director, British Council Iraq

 

The British Council is the UK’s international organisation for cultural relations and educational opportunities. As an organisation, it  has been building a close relationship and understanding between the people of the United Kingdom and Iraq since 1953, changing lives by creating opportunities, building connections and engendering trust. In spite of the violence that has plagued this extraordinary country over the past 30 years, relations between the UK and Iraq remain strong. The breadth and variety of projects delivered over the last 80 years is truly impressive and it is a great privilege for me to lead the British Council’s teams in Baghdad, Erbil and Basra as they continue this strong tradition. Our most recent success story was the Active Citizens programme which reached over 10,000 people who became involved in the projects across Baghdad, Anbar, Basra, Erbil, Dehuk, Sulaimaniyah, and Mosul. The campaign “I am an Iraqi Woman, so I am …” won the British Council’s global competition. 

The British Council’s scope of work has been further increased and includes newly liberated areas such as Mosul and Anbar. The British Council has taken responsibility for  implementing programs in fields that are highly important across Iraq. Through partnership with Iraqi and international organisations such as UNESCO and the European Union, we run large-scale vocational reform programmes, aimed at better equipping Iraqi youth for a future where they can prosper and contribute to Iraq’s economic and social development. Through our DFID funded Connecting Classrooms and International Schools Award, we promote internationalism among young people by recognising and rewarding schools in Iraq that build an international dimension into the teaching-learning process. 

Our own Language for Resilience programme builds English language and core skills across Iraq’s youth, and the HIWAR programmes build and  promote national reconciliation and peace between different religions and beliefs. 

Our exams centres facilitate Iraq’s access to English Language, Professional and Schools exams. With centres currently in Baghdad, Erbil, Sulimaniyah and Duhook, we are also hoping to open centres in the south of Iraq. Future plans also include the expansion of English Language teaching. 

We are serious about our  Equality, Diversity and Inclusion policy within the British Council, and  seek, through our work, to engage with all sectors  of society. Our programmes are designed to reach women, people with disability, people of all age groups and all other minorities present in Iraq. Our work with children is always designed and managed with their protection and safeguarding in mind. Of particular interest is the recently launched capacity-building project in Primary and Secondary schools which focuses on supporting access to high quality education for disabled children and girls living in rural areas. 

I look forward to working with you towards these objectives.

 

Dr. Victoria Lindsay,

Country Director, British Council Iraq

فكتوريا ليندزي، مديرة المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في العراق

المجلس الثقافي البريطاني هو منظمة المملكة المتحدة الدولية للعلاقات الثقافية والفرص التعليمية. كمنظمة ، كانت تبني علاقة وثيقة وتفاهم وثيق بين شعب المملكة المتحدة والعراق منذ عام 1953 ، وتغير الحياة من خلال خلق الفرص ، وبناء الروابط وبناء الثقة. على الرغم من العنف الذي ابتلي به هذا البلد الاستثنائي على مدى السنوات الثلاثين الماضية ، إلا أن العلاقات بين المملكة المتحدة والعراق لا تزال قوية. إن اتساع وتنوع المشاريع التي تم تقديمها خلال الثمانين سنة الماضية أمر مثير للإعجاب حقًا ، وإنه لشرف عظيم لي أن أقود فرق المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في بغداد وأربيل والبصرة وهم يواصلون هذا التقليد القوي. أحدث قصة نجاح لنا كانت برنامج المواطنين الفاعلين والذي وصل إلى أكثر من 10000 شخص شاركوا في المشاريع عبر بغداد والأنبار والبصرة وأربيل ودهوك والسليمانية والموصل. فازت حملة "أنا امرأة عراقية ، لذا أنا ..." في المسابقة العالمية للمجلس الثقافي البريطاني.

تم توسيع نطاق عمل المجلس الثقافي البريطاني بشكل أكبر ليشمل مناطق محررة حديثًا مثل الموصل والأنبار. يتحمل المجلس الثقافي البريطاني مسؤولية تنفيذ البرامج في المجالات ذات الأهمية القصوى في جميع أنحاء العراق. من خلال الشراكة مع المنظمات العراقية والدولية مثل اليونسكو والاتحاد الأوروبي ، ندير برامج إصلاح مهني واسعة النطاق ، تهدف إلى تجهيز الشباب العراقي بشكل أفضل لمستقبل يمكنهم فيه الازدهار والمساهمة في التنمية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية في العراق. من خلال جائزة ربط الصفوف المدرسية والمدارس الدولية التي تمولها وزارة التنمية الدولية البريطانية ، نشجع على الطابع الدولي بين الشباب من خلال التعرف على المدارس في العراق ومكافأتها التي تبني بعدًا دوليًا في عملية التعليم والتعلم.

يبني برنامج اللغة الخاص بنا اللغة الإنجليزية والمهارات الأساسية لشباب العراق ، ويقوم برنامج تحاور ببناء وتعزيز المصالحة الوطنية والسلام بين الأديان والمعتقدات المختلفة.

تسهل مراكز الامتحانات في العراق توفير امتحانات اللغة الإنجليزية والمهنية والمدارس. مع وجود مراكز حاليًا في بغداد وأربيل والسليمانية ودهوك ، نأمل أيضًا في فتح مراكز في جنوب العراق. تشمل الخطط المستقبلية أيضًا التوسع في تدريس اللغة الإنجليزية.

نحن جادون بشأن سياستنا المتعلقة بالمساواة والتنوع والإدماج داخل المجلس البريطاني ، ونسعى من خلال عملنا إلى الانخراط مع جميع قطاعات المجتمع. تم تصميم برامجنا للوصول إلى النساء والأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة والأشخاص من جميع الفئات العمرية وجميع الأقليات الأخرى الموجودة في العراق. يتم دائمًا تصميم عملنا مع الأطفال وإدارته مع مراعاة حمايتهم. ومما له أهمية خاصة هو مشروع بناء القدرات الذي تم إطلاقه مؤخرًا في المدارس الابتدائية والثانوية والذي يركز على دعم الوصول إلى تعليم عالي الجودة للأطفال والفتيات المعاقين الذين يعيشون في المناطق الريفية.

أتطلع للعمل معكم لتحقيق هذه الأهداف.

دكتورة فيكتوريا ليندسي