Students taking a medical exam

For all those looking to develop a career in medicine, we can help you to take medical qualifications with some of the UK's most prestigious medical organisations. 

You can register directly with the bodies in the UK, We can then arrange the examinations in Iraq.

When you take an exam with the British Council, you’ll get the very best support from us. Our staff will make sure you have a simple and straightforward experience, from the moment you register for the medical exam to the day you get your results. All you need to do is prepare for your exam and turn up on exam day.

We work with several top professional bodies to allow you to study and take your exams in Iraq:

MRCP UK - Membership of the Royal Colleges of Physicians

What is MRCP(UK)?

MRCP(UK) offers the following postgraduate medical qualifications for doctors who are preparing for higher specialist training on behalf of  the Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow and the Royal College of Physicians of London. 

  • MRCP(UK) Diploma 
  • 12 Specialty Certificate Examinations (SCEs)

The MRCP(UK) examinations play an essential role in the overall educational experience and continuing professional development of physicians in the UK and internationally.

The Membership of the Royal Colleges of Physicians (UK) Diploma is required for physicians wishing to undergo training in a medically-related specialty in the UK.

The Specialty Certificate Examinations (SCEs) are an opportunity to measure your knowledge against an internationally recognised benchmark, which represents the breadth and depth of knowledge required of a newly qualified specialist in your chosen discipline. These are a requirement in the UK for specialist physicians. 

What do MRCP(UK) examinations involve? 

The MRCP(UK) Diploma tests the skills, knowledge and behaviour of doctors in training. It involves three examinations: 

  1. Part 1 consists of two three-hour multiple-choice question papers covering knowledge and understanding of the clinical sciences
  2. Part 2 Written consists of three three-hour multiple-choice question papers covering diagnosis, investigation, management and prognosis of patients
  3. Part 2 Clinical Examination (PACES) involves a series of five clinical stations, each assessed by two independent examiners

In the UK, the MRCP(UK) Diploma is usually taken during the two-year period of general professional training (GPT) in medicine after you have registered with the UK General Medical Council. 

The SCEs consists of 2 three-hour multiple-choice question papers delivered through computer-based testing throughout the world. Please visit the MRCP(UK) website for a list of specialties and further details.

Why should I take MRCP(UK) examinations?

The MRCP(UK) is recognised as an entry qualification into higher specialist training for doctors wishing to become specialist registrars. 

How can I register?

You need to apply online at the MRCP(UK) website. To find out how, visit MRCP(UK)’s Online Examination Services web page.

When are the exams and how much do they cost?

For dates & examinations fees, please visit MRCP(UK) website: 

Part 1 

Part 2 



Do you organise examinations for people with disabilities?

We do our best to cater for any reasonable adjustments on the exam day.

Any candidate who has a physical disability, specific learning disability, long term medical condition or any other special need that they believe could affect their performance in an examination may be entitled to reasonable adjustments. All such candidates should inform the MRCP(UK) of this at the time of each application, by indicating this in the ‘special arrangements’ area of the application form, whereupon they will be contacted by the relevant MRCP(UK) office.

MRCPCH - Membership of the Royal College of Paediatric and Child Health

The exam is usually taken during the period of basic specialist training, which in the UK normally lasts for two to three years. It replaced the MRCP (UK) paediatrics exam in June 1999.

It has four sections:

  • Foundation of Practice, in which a written paper tests basic clinical knowledge in paediatrics.
  • Theory and Science, in which a written paper tests the science underpinning paediatric practice.
  • Applied Knowledge in Practice, which consists of two papers taken in one day, which predominantly feature questions based on clinical scenarios.
  • Clinical, which involves assessed interactions with children and their families.

Success in one exam leads to a timed registration period of entry into the next exam. 

Why should I take this exam?

It will provide you with the normal entry requirement for higher specialist training in paediatrics. 

Successfully completing the Clinical section allows for entry to membership of the college. 

How can I register to take the MRCPCH exams?

You can apply directly with the the Royal College of Paediatric and Child Health (RCPCH). For more information about how to do this, visit the RCPCH how to apply web page

When are the exams and how much do they cost?

For examination dates and fees, please visit the RCPCH website.

MJDF – Diploma of Membership of the Joint Dental Faculties - The Royal College of Surgeons

What is the MJDF?

Run by the prestigious Royal College of Surgeons, the MJDF is the UK’s most popular postgraduate dental examination with over 1,800 people taking the MJDF examination in 2014.

With the letters MJDF after your name, you are able to demonstrate that you have passed an internationally recognised examination of your competence in practice.

Why should you take the MJDF?

The MJDF is the only examination of its type that recognises that the vast majority of dentistry takes place in the primary care setting, and examines you on the skills and knowledge you actually use in practice. Some skills that bridge the divide between primary and secondary care are also tested, making the MJDF a good stepping stone towards specialism. Wherever your career takes you, the MJDF is a relevant test of your skills and knowledge.

What is the structure of the MJDF?

In order to pass the MJDF you must sit and pass two separate examinations; the Part 1 and Part 2 exams.

MJDF Part 1

The Part 1 examination consists of 150 multiple choice questions designed to assess your knowledge and applied knowledge. The Part 1 examination is a single paper of 3 hours’ duration.

MJDF Part 2

The Part 2 examination is a test of your professional skills and knowledge in a more practical environment. The exam comprises 14 stations of which 11 are examined and 3 are preparatory stations. The Part 2 exam is approximately 3 hours in duration.You will not be examined on anything that is outside of the scope of day to day general dental practice.

Two Faculties for less than the price of one

The MJDF is run by The Royal College of Surgeons (RCS). Upon successfully passing the MJDF you can choose to become a member of the RCS and its two dental Faculties. That means, you get dedicated support on primary care dentistry from the Faculty of General Dental Practice (UK), and support on entering and practising in secondary care from the Faculty of Dental Surgery. No other Royal College offers a package of support to rival that provided by the dental faculties at The Royal College of Surgeons.

For more information

Visit the MJDF website:

To apply online visit:

Email the Royal College of Surgeons: