We build relationships between people and institutions in the UK and Iraq through activities to promote a better understanding of the English language and cooperation in Education and the Arts. 

The British Council’s office in Iraq was established in 1952. We closed in 1999 to re-open again in 2003 in Baghdad and in 2008 in Erbil. 

OUR WORK IN ENGLISH AND EXAMS

Our focus is to improve the quality of English language teaching. We have recently completed Master trainer training programmes for all English language supervisors in Kurdistan. We have broadcast radio programmes for learning English with audience figures of 70,000 and we are supporting the English Language Teachers Professional Network. 

Our Exams business is growing rapidly, led by strong demand for IELTS. We have tripled the number of candidates taking IELTS with 4,500 tests in 2013-14. We deliver IELTS in Erbil and Baghdad and recently opened a centre in Sulaimaniya. Find out more about the exams we offer in Iraq.

OUR WORK IN EDUCATION

With the Ministries of Education in Baghdad and Erbil, we are working to improve the quality of school education through setting standards for teaching and learning, school self-development, support to school supervisors, and staff development. Educators in 4,300 schools have received training on school leadership and modern pedagogy. 900 Master trainers, 24,000 teachers and 4,100 supervisors are working across Iraq to improve quality in 2,700 schools.

With Ministries of Education, Labour and Social Affairs and the Foundation of Technical Education, we are working to improve the quality of vocational and technical training: a TVET strategy was developed in collaboration with our partner ministries. Occupational standards for five priority sectors were developed and a new curriculum designed and piloted in a network of 15 Centres of Excellence.

With the Ministry of Higher Education, we are working to improve Quality Assurance, Leadership, and Internationalising Higher Education. Find out more information about our work in education.

OUR WORK IN ARTS

Since 2009 we have been supporting the inspirational National Youth Orchestra of Iraq (“the bravest orchestra in the world”). In 2012 the orchestra toured the UK and in 2013 it toured France. We have provided training workshops and classes in Erbil in collaboration with the German Friends to prepare for the orchestra’s international performances.

We organise an annual Literature Festival in Erbil. In Arpril 2014, Niniti 3rd International Literature Festival was held in collaboration with the Ministry of Culture, Salahaddin University, High Council for Women’s Affairs, ArtRole and Reel Iraq. The festival focussed on women writers. Find out more about our work in the arts.

عملنا في العراق

نحن نبني العلاقات بين الأشخاص والمؤسسات في المملكة المتحدة والعراق من خلال أنشطة وبرامج تعزز الفهم الأفضل للغة الإنجليزية وكذلك التعاون في المجالات المختلفة في التعليم والفنون.

تأسس مكتب المجلس الثقافي البريطاني في العراق عام 1952. وقد اُغلق المكتب في عام 1999 لنعاود افتتاحه مرة ثانية في عام 2003 في بغداد وفي عام 2008 في أربيل. 

عملنا في اللغة الإنجليزية والامتحانات

نركز على تحسين جودة تدريس اللغة الإنجليزية حيث استكملنا مؤخراً برامج تدريب مدراء التدريب لجميع مشرفي اللغة الإنجليزية في كردستان. كما قمنا ببث برامج إذاعية لتعلم اللغة الإنجليزية بحيث وصلت الى جمهور من المستمعين تعدى السبعين الفاً. ونحن ندعم أيضاً الشبكة المهنية لمعلمي اللغة الإنجليزية.

إن عملنا في إجراء امتحان "IELTS" آخذ بالنمو بسبب الطلب المتزايد عليه، فقد رفعنا أعداد المتقدمين للامتحان الى ثلاثة أضعاف متمثلاً في 4500 امتحان في عام 2013 – 2014. ونحن نوفر هذه الامتحانات في كل من بغداد وأربيل وقد أفتتحنا مؤخراً مركزاً جديداً في السليمانية. اعرف المزيد عن الامتحانات التي نقوم بتقديمها.

عملنا في التعليم 

نعمل ومن خلال تعاوننا مع وزارتي التربية في كل من بغداد وأربيل على تحسين جودة التعليم في المدارس من خلال وضع معايير التعليم والتعلم والتطوير الذاتي للمدارس، ودعم مديري المدارس، وكذلك تطوير قدرات الموظفين. لقد تلقى المعلمون في أكثر من 4300 مدرسة تدريباً على القيادة في المدارس وعلى طرق التدريس الحديثة. ويقوم 900 من مدراء التدريب  و24 ألف معلم و4100 مشرف في عموم العراق على تحسين جودة التعليم في 2700 مدرسة.

نحن نعمل بالتعاون مع كل من وزارات؛  التربية، والعمل والشؤون الإجتماعية، وهيئة التعليم التقني على تحسين الجودة في قطاع التدريب والتعليم المهني؛ فقد تم وضع إستراتيجية للتعليم والتدريب المهني والتقني بالتعاون مع الوزارات الشريكة لنا، وتطوير المعايير المهنية لخمسة من المهن ذات الأولوية، وقد صممت المناهج الجديدة وتم تجريبها في شبكة تتألف من 15 مركزاً للتمييز.

نعمل مع وزارة التعليم العالي على تحسين ضمان الجودة ، القيادة ، وتدويل التعليم العالي. اعرف المزيد من المعلومات عن عملنا في التعليم.

عملنا في الفنون

نحن ندعم ومنذ عام 2009 الفرقة السمفونية الوطنية العراقية للشباب (" أشجع فرقة سمفونية في العالم")، حيث قامت هذه الفرقة في عام 2012 بجولة فنية في المملكة المتحدة وفي عام 2013 بجولة أخرى في فرنسا. وقد  قدمنا لهم ورش عمل تدريبة ودروس موسيقية في مدينة أربيل بالتعاون مع الأصدقاء الألمان لإعدادهم لعروض الأداء العالمية للسمفونية.

ونقوم بتنظيم مهرجان ثقافي سنوي في أربيل، ففي عام 2014 أقمنا المهرجان العالمي الأدبي الثالث واخترنا إسم "نينتي" إسماً للمهرجان لهذا العام، وقد كان هذا كله بالتعاون مع وزارة الثقافة، وجامعة صلاح الدين، والمجلس الأعلى لشؤون المرأة، ومنظمة آرت رول، ومنظمة ريل العراق. وركز المهرجان في هذا العام على النساء الكاتبات، اعرف المزيد عن عملنا في الفنون.