Overview of our work in arts

Through our arts work in Iraq we build strong relationships between artists, producers, festivals, venues, curators and directors in the UK and their Iraqi counterparts. We collaboratively develop and curate a number of exciting new projects in theatre, dance, music, film and interdisciplinary creativity.

Our programmes not only resonate with our cultural agenda, but most importantly, with our partners’ needs and aspirations. We make it our priority to inspire and empower children and young adults, Iraq’s influencers and leaders of tomorrow, by connecting them to UK creativity and outreach in arts education.

Our mission to engage with, entertain and inspire audiences across Iraq.

Partners we work with:

  • Ministries of Culture in both Baghdad and Erbil
  • High Council for Women in Kurdistan Region of Iraq
  • Salahddin University
  • Iraqi Writers Union
  • Kurdish Writers Union
  • Reel Arts/FireFly International/Reel Iraq
  • ArtRole
  • National Youth Orchestra of Iraq (NYOI)

Hamlet takes over Erbil

In April this year Erbil, the capital of the Kurdistan Region of Iraq hosted The Globe theatre, a group of talented actors who have performed “Hamlet” as part of the Hamlet Globe to Globe world tour. We were really excited and privileged to be one of the final destinations in the tour. The event generated considerable media and public interest, people from all walks of life were eager to watch the performance, and when tickets went on sale they were sold out within a few days.

Baghdad School Performance a Shakespeare Scene

As part of the International School’s Award program, students from Baghdad High School for Girls performed a scene from Shakespeare’s Merchant of Venice.  However these creative and adventurous students decided to perform it a little differently, making this performance particularly special and unique. During the Shakespearean era, young boys used to play the roles of women - but the Baghdad High School girls reversed this tradition by playing the roles of the men in the play!

نظرة عامة عن عملنا في الفنون

نحن نبني من خلال عملنا في مجال الفنون علاقات قوية بين الفنانين، والمنتجين، والمهرجانات، والفعاليات، والمشرفين، والمخرجين في المملكة المتحدة ونظرائهم العراقيين. إذ نتعاون في تطوير والإشراف على عدد من المشاريع الجديدة في المسرح، وفنون الرقص، والموسيقى، والأفلام، والفنون الإبداعية الحديثة متعددة المجالات. 

ولا تنسجم برامجنا مع أجندتنا الثقافية وحسب بل الأهم من ذلك مع احتياجات وتطلعات شركائنا. ونحن نسعى من خلال هذه البرامج إلى إلهام وتمكين الأطفال والشباب، الذين يعتبرون قادة الغد في العراق، وذلك من خلال ربطهم بالإبداع والتوعية في المملكة المتحدة فيما يتعلق بتعليم الفنون. 

وتكمن مهمتنا في إلهام الجمهور، والترفيه عنه، والانخراط معه في جميع أنحاء العراق. 

شركاؤنا 

  • وزارة الثقافة في كل من بغداد وأربيل
  • المجلس الأعلى للمرأة في إقليم كردستان
  • جامعة صلاح الدين 
  • إتحاد الأدباء والكتاب العراقيين 
  • إتحاد الأدباء والكتاب في كردستان
  • ريل آرتس / فاير فلاي العالمية في العراق
  • آرت رول 
  • الفرقة السيمفونية الوطنية للشباب في العراق

ثانوية بغداد تؤدي مشهدا لشكسبير

كجزء من برنامج جائزة المدرسة الدولية، قدم طلاب من إعدادية بغداد للبنات عرضاً مسرحياً لمشهد من تاجر البندقية. وقد قرر هؤلاء الطلاب المبدعين تنفيذ ذلك بشكل مختلف قليلاً، مما يجعل هذا الأداء مميزاً وفريداً من نوعه. في عهد شكسبير، كان يُستخدم الصبية الصغار للعب أدوار المرأة - ولكن هنا قامت فتيات إعدادية بغداد بعكس هذا التقليد من خلال لعب أدوار الرجال!